Welcome to the Homepage of the Chair of Political Economy

Comparative and international political economy as well as formal political theory constitute the main areas of interest of the academic staff at the Chair of Political Economy. Political economy deals with the influence of political processes and institutions on policy and economic outcomes building on formal and technical tools of economic analysis. In addition to attempting a consistent micro-foundation of institutional arguments, the empirical implications of theoretical models are examined.

Our research profile is documented by the publications and the research projects of our staff. In the Collaborative Research Center SFB 884 "Political Economy of Reforms" we examine Reform Agendas and Intra-party Programmatic Position-taking. Furthermore, in our research projects based at the Mannheim Center for European Social Research (MZES), we do research on Party Competition, Electoral Incentives and Legislative Behaviour. More information about our current course catalogue can be received here.

The Chair of Political Economy offers on a regular basis lectures on Comparative Politics for students in the B.A. program political science as well as the lectures "Game Theory" and "International Political Economy" for graduate students. In addition, we offer diverse seminars in the areas of comparative politics and (international) political economy, exam and thesis colloquia, and workshops at the Doctoral Center in Social and Behavioral Science (CDSS). More information about our current syllabus can be found here.

News

Herzlich Willkommen auf der Homepage der Professur Political Economy

Die vergleichende und die internationale politische Ökonomie sowie die formale  politische Theorie bilden den Arbeitsschwerpunkt der Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen der Professur. Politische Ökonomie beschäftigt sich mit politischen Prozessen und Institutionen und deren Einfluss auf Politikergebnisse und das Wirtschaftsgeschehen, die mit ökonomischen Handlungsmodellen analysiert werden. Neben einer konsistenten Mikrofundierung institutionalistischer  Argumente wird Wert auf die Überprüfung der empirischen Implikationen theoretischer Modelle gelegt.

Einen konkreten Ausdruck unseres Forschungsprofils finden Sie in den Publikationen und den Forschungsprojekten der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Professur. Im SFB 884 "Political Economy of Reforms" untersuchen wir Reformagenden und innerparteiliche programmatische Positionen. Desweiteren befassen wir uns im Arbeitsbereich B des Mannheimer Zentrums für Europäische Sozialforschung (MZES) mit Partizipation und Repräsentation, Wahlsystemanreizen und legislativem Verhalten sowie mit Identitätskonstellationen, politischer Inklusion/Exklusion und bewaffneten innerstaatlichen Konflikten.

In der Lehre bietet die Professur regelmäßig Vorlesungen zu Internationalen Beziehungen für Bachelorstudierende sowie "Game Theory" und "International Political Economy" für Studierende im Masterstudium Political Science an. Außerdem werden vielfältige Veranstaltungen in den Bereichen Internationale Beziehungen und Vergleichende Regierungslehre, Abschluss- und Examenskolloquien sowie Workshops am CDSS angeboten. (Zu den aktuellen Veranstaltungen)

 


Aktuelles